thevertoablog

Just another WordPress.com site

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 January 16, 2011

Filed under: Review — vertoa @ 11:57 am
Tags: , , ,

Old entry. Also posted here.

FINALLY WATCHED HARRY POTTER!

I thought it’d be hard to get the ticket, but it wasn’t. I went to BSM immediately with Temeafter school, even I had to ignore my duty to attend the Japanese Education Fair at SMK 3 (lol). I was really curious about this movie since they announced the release date in Indonesia. I re-read the book weeks before the release, and wow, I just realized that I missed almost all of the last chapters of the book. Totally forgot! I was so excited, I looked for the spoilers–watched the trailers, explored HPDHp1 on IMDb, even I opened 7 tabs of Harry Potter-related tumblr on my Mozilla. Kyah. And finally the day came…


(click to enlarge)
Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows: Part 1 (2010)
Director: David Yates
Writers: Steve Kloves (screenplay), J.K. Rowling (novel)
Cast: Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, Rupert Grint, Ralph Fiennes, Helena Bonham Carter, Jason Isaacs, James & Oliver Phelps, Tom Felton, Simon McBurney (voice), Evanna Lynch, Clemence Poesy, etc.
Music: Alexandre Desplat
Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Mystery
Rating: PG-13
Duration: 146 minutes

(By the way I’m not going to tell you the plot. Because I bet people has read the book or maybe the movie. So, my narration will jump forward or backward, yeah, random walk. CONTAINS SPOILER. You’ve been warned.)

For this one, I daresay bravo to David Yates. Unlike the previous two boring HP movies with him as the director, this HPDHp1 feels more lively. They didn’t cut the important parts, and they even put some additional scene like Hermione obliviated her  parents, etc. But the thing I like most is the sense of humor. The film may be tense from the beginning, but the audience could get their laughing time. I laughed so hard when Harry and Ginny kissed and caught red handed by George.

Fufu, my dear “holey” George.

The Seven Potters.
Fleur Delacour’s wedding dress!
OMG so beautiful… Designed by Jany Temime, but it’s actually controversial because it is looked like Alexander McQueen’s design for Fall/Winter collection. Read it here. Fleur married with Bill Weasley, Ron’s oldest brother. He’s a werewolf, if I’m not mistaken, because he fought Fenrir Greyback and got bite. He’s quite hot B-) *pict of him below* *he looked like Mr. Weasley very much, their nose, doesn’t he? O_o*
“Mad-Eye is dead. He fell from his broom. “
Another character dead. Poor you, Mr. Moody 😦

The actors were really cool, too. No miscast, I think (except Xenophilius Lovegood. I thought he was fat because he was called ‘an omelet’ since he used his yellow cloak on Bill and Fleur’s wedding based on the book). And, I really like the progress of their act. Well, we “grow” with Dan, Emms and Rupe, after all. 😀 Emms grows more beautiful. Look at her figure. Perfect model! Rupe’s grown taller and taller, and Tom Felton–Teme said that he’s hot. Dat’s right but I like Alan Rickman–Snape–even he just appeared on the beginning 🙂

“Ron… please, don’t go, Ron! Where’re you going!”
Her expression 😦

And, is it me or Ron became quite poetic? :)) He said that the Deluminator isn’t only the light put-outer, but also the voice put-outer. He heard Hermione’s name, calling his name… “Ron… Ron…” HAHAHA I like that part. But… I’ll admit it. I’m a Harry-Hermione shippers so I was VERY BERRY HAPPY when they were dancing 🙂 It was touchy. I know that Harry just wanted to cheer her, and for him, Hermione’s just his ‘little sister’, but still… I like that scene. Again, thanks, Yates 😛 (The dance song was O’Children by Nick Cave, by the way)

“Oh, you need a wand, right, Harry? Here.”
Engorgio.” *the fire flames* “R-Reducio!

And like I said before, it’s really, really tense. They said they would present this movie in 3D, but I’m not sure I can keep my eyes open 😐 There were scene when Nagini raised its head and jaw opened, showing its poisonous teeth and I was like “GYAAAAH” when it appeared like that. Bad Nagini! You’ll be killed by Neville later on! Shoo! 😡
And there’s Dobby too, yaaay! XD Fuckyeahhouseelf! And he’s wearing a shoes~ He was very brave! He’s sent by Aberforth (the man in the piece of the mirror) to the dungeon and saved Mr. Ollivander, Griphook the goblin, and Luna.
*Dobby clicked his fingers and caused Malfoy unable to hurt Harry cs.*
Bellatrix: How dare you to betray your own master! How dare you!
Dobby: I have no master! I am an independent house-elf! D:<
Bellatrix: What!? D8
…and we clapped our hands! FuckyeahDobby! XD
But he dead, after all. This ugly bitchy munchy witch named Bellatrix threw the knife when Dobby cs. Dissaparate and, unfortunately, the knife stabbed Dobby’s chest 😦 POOR DOBBY!!! (By the way, Mundungus Fletcher quite looked like my Japanese teacher LOL SUMIMASEN SENSEI 8DD)
“You mean this? This is the Deathly Hallows.
Have you read the Tale of The Three Brothers?”
“Yes.”
“Yes.”
“No.” Harry shrugged.*gubrak*

The Tales of Three Brother–you saw the sequence? TO-TAL-LY A-WE-SOME. Beautiful.Ben Hibon is genius. Quite some intermezzo, the animation 🙂
The movie ends with Voldemort broke in Dumbledore’s grave. He took the Elder Wand. But it won’t be “tamed” unless you defeat the “real owner”, My Lord. Fufufu. Means that Snape will be killed on the second part. OH NOOOO I like Snaaaape DX He’s actually kind…before you defeat your enemy, you have to deceive your own friends. Hiks, Severus. Pretend to be devoted to Voldemort but actually he belonged to Dumbledore 😦 Poor you. And poor Dobby.
I can’t wait for the second part. There will be the dragon scene whooo XD And then Hogwarts war (finally back to Hogwarts!), meeting Aberforth, Dumbledore’s brother, and nineteen years later, when Harry and Ginny already married and got… how many children? James Potter Jr., Lily Potter Jr., and Albus Severus Potter. Oh, and Teddy Lupin, Remus and Tonks’ son (cuz they died). Ron and Hermione married, having… one or two? Idk. But Draco is still alive, blimey. 😉
Aaaaand for the closing…
I gave this film, uh… how many stars… alright,
two thumbs up 😀
(who are you anyway????)

Image source: IMDb, tumblr, gogirlmagz, reviewstl, deviantart.

 

Leave a Reply

